Tags

, ,

THE ROCKET’S SHADOW(1947)

THE LOST CITY(1947)

SEA GOLD(1947)

This series was one James Reasoner recommended on Patti Abbott’s Forgotten Friday’s Books For Children.

It was one I was unfamiliar with myself and it would have been perfect for me at about age ten to twelve. I read every HARDY BOYS and TOM SWIFT I could find back then. I don’t know how these were missed, except that our libraries must not have had them. I looked for that kind of stuff back then and don’t know how I could have overlooked them if they were there.

They were known collectively as the RICK BRANT ELECTRONIC ADVENTURES and usually had some kind of electric gear worked into the story lines.

They were the adventures of Rick Brant and his best friend, Don “Scotty” Scott, both high school age. Rick is the son of a famous scientist and Scotty, a year older, is a three year veteran of WWII, lying his way into the marines at an early age.

They live on Spindrift Island, off New Jersey, with Brant’s family and other scientists at a facility where electrical experiments are performed. Rick even owns his Piper Cub that he flies back and forth to the mainland running errands for the scientists.

In the first book, they are planning a rocket lauch to hit the moon. In the second, an expedition to Tibet is to set up a radio to try and bounce a signal off the Moon, to be picked up by Spindrift Island. The boys get summer jobs at a plant up the coast in the third that uses an electrical process to extract valuable minerals, copper, magnesium,aluminum, gold, and silver.

These books were obviously designed for young boys as in each, there’s always someone out to sabotage things for their own reasons. The boys glom on to this obvious fact early on and the dense older folks never believe them. I mean, they’re just children. So it’s left to Rick and Scotty to save the day in the end.

I liked reading these three books, that twelve year old hidden inside escaping long enough to enjoy them. I wish I’d read them when I was younger. My reading tastes are a bit more sophistocated these days and I don’t have the will, or the desire, to track down the other twenty-one anymore.

It was a fun couple of days, though.

