Tags

,

I go all the way back to the beginning with Star Trek. I was a geeky fifteen year old in 1965 when looking at the local paper’s weekly TV section. There was a still of Captain Kirk beaming in to publicize the show’s debut. I thought it looked interesting and tuned in that night to watch The Man Trap, episode one. I’ve been a fan ever since.

I wasn’t as bad as some fans. I never cared whether people called us Trekkies or Trekkers. It’s not something to get pissed about. I didn’t attend a lot of cons(though I have met Leonard Nimoy and George Takei, as well as seeing a Lecture by Gene Roddenberry).

I just liked the show and read the fiction before they just completely went crazy with the publishing program. These days I still occasionally read some novels. It depends on the writer and which show is featured. I never was thrilled with Voyager or the first three years of Enterprise. The writing could best be described as stale.

I haven’t gone nuts because they are making a movie with all the original characters recast. I’m willing to give it a chance.

Here’s a new version of the trailer with old Spock at the end. And yes, I’ll admit it. The inner geek thrilled a bit when I first saw it. I can’t help that. The show was a favorite in my formative years.

