I just can’t seem to let this go. Last post I talked about a friend’s descent into the land of wingnutdom(Yes, I know that’s not a word, but it describes them nicely).

He was ranting about Obama this morning and one statement struck me. He doesn’t like Obama and I was okay with that. But he said, “I researched all about Obama and what I found backed up what I inherently knew.”

I had to call him on that one. Any good scientist will tell you you take the evidence where it will lead you. If you look for things to back up what you already “know,” that’s all you will find. You will dismiss or gloss over anything that doesn’t agree with your preconceived notions.

Out of one side of his mouth, he dismissed anything I said with, “You can’t believe everything you hear or see on the internet,” while at the same time trying to give me websites to go to back up his assertions.

I just can’t take that crap anymore.

I think I’ve lost a friend.

