Tags

,

I recently was reminded of Etta James, the name used as the heroine of Jack Martin’s new western, THE BALLAD OF DELTA ROSE, an artist I hadn’t listened to in a few years. It got me to digging out stuff and reacquainting me with music with which I should never have lost touch. I saw her live in the late seventies when her band opened for the Stones.

James was a big influence on many of the great music artists that many of us take for granted these days. She was ranked twenty-second on Rolling Stones one hundred greatest artists. She’s won numerous Grammys and Blues awards and been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Blues Hall of Fame, and the Grammy Hall of Fame twice.

She put her influence on songs made famous by other people like nobody’s business. Here are some of my favorites:

AT LAST

ONLY WOMEN BLEED

TAKE IT TO THE LIMIT

SUGAR ON THE FLOOR

