Tags

, , , ,

The soundtrack CD THE BIG COUNTRY has rapidly became a favorite. I have it ripped to my music file so I can listen while working on the computer. I’m doing so as I write this. It was for the 1958 film THE BIG COUNTRY, based on a novel by Donald Hamilton, and starring a host of names: Gregory Peck, Charlton Heston, Jean Simmons, Carroll Baker, Chuck Connors, Burl Ives, and Charles Bickford. It’s the story of two old men(Bickford and Ives) battling over water rights and the stranger(Peck) that enters the picture, about to marry into one of the feuding families.

The soundtrack was by Jerome Moross, who also did music for THE CARDINAL and one of my all time favorites, THE VALLEY OF GWANGI, and performed by The Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Tony Bremner. There’s some quite moving pieces for the calm and quiet scenes and lots of bombast for the action ones(and there’s a bunch of them. There’s not a lot on Youtube, but there’s a couple of good ones.

For fun, because it’s one of my favorite scenes from the movie, I’m adding the fight between the Peck and Heston characters. It has a great line in it.

And just for the hell of it, I’m throwing in something from THE VALLEY OF GWANGI:

