Tags

, ,

The use of The Seeds Pushing Too Hard in a shoe commercial got me to thinking about my teenage years and the music I listened to back then. I was into the Beach Boys, the whole surf music music thing early. But it was when The Beatles his this shore, followed shortly by the whole British invasion, that my interest in rock music was really cranked up. The old memory is iffy these days, that’s a long time ago, but these were favorites back then. Oh, I listened and loved The Beatles, The Stones, and the Who, as well as other of the successful bands. These are bands largely forgotten, well mostly, these days as members achieved success in other bands or solo work.

This was my first brush with Ted Nugent. Because of the nature of this song’s lyrics, Brother Ted is questioned often about it. Or used to be. His strong anti-drug stance is well known and these lyrics are, frankly, at least that’s how I’ve always seen them, references to an acid trip. His reply has always been that he wrote the music, the singer the lyrics. It’s a good song nonetheless.

Canned Heat was another favorite. The clip here is from the film WOODSTOCK, an event that I would loved to have attended. I could not get anyone to go with me and not sure if I would have if someone had agreed. The film played the whole summer in a local multiplex theater and I must have seen it at least three times.

The Byrds had revolving membership. but were an influential band of the period. One member, David Crosby, went on to other successes.

The Yardbirds at various times had Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, and Jimmy Page on lead guitar. There may have been a bit of an overlap, not sure, but Page was the last one and when he was forming his seminal band, was thinking of The New yardbirds as a name until Keith Moon gave him Led Zeppelin.

Cream was maybe the first supergroup, lasting only a couple of years. Still influential. With members Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker, and of course Eric Clapton.

The Turtles were a particular favorite. Mark Volman and howard Kaylan founded the band. When it folded in the late sixties, the two found that, by the terms of their contract, they didn’t own the name or their own names for that matter, nor the catalog. They joined Frank Zappa’s Mothers of Invention and became Flo and Eddie, releasing nine albums of their own. After fifteen years of litigation, they regained the Turtles name, the catalog, and their own names.

and this was my favorite of the non-big three bands of that period. Mainly for this song. This is a truncated version. On the vinyl LP, it took up the whole of side two, twenty-six minutes and change I believe.

There were so many more: The Kinks, The Zombies, Paul Revere and The Raiders, Sam The Sham and The Pharoahs, Gerry and The Pacemakers, The Dave Clark Five. I could go on and on and link to a hundred videos. Too long and boring likely. No one would watch them all, maybe not these I have links to, but some idea of what I enjoyed as puberty struck and I was growing up.

