Tags

, , , , , ,

I was wondering how I would like DJANGO UNCHAINED as I sat down to watch it this morning. I do love my spaghetti westerns and Quentin Tarantino is a long time fan as well. As thedjango_unchained_movie_poster_by_artoftu-d5pvahk film started and the song from the original Django began to play, a comfortable feeling come over me. I knew then.

It’s a violent film, bloody(even more so than most spaghetti westerns), and there were homages of some of the bigger films in the genre sprinkled throughout. A snow sequence referenced The Great Silence. Django of course. Even other films like Mandingo and Hercules Unbound were alluded to in some scenes.

Jaime Foxx is Django, “the D is silent,” the ex-slave on a mission to find and rescue his wife. Christoph Waltz is Dr. King Schultz, the dentist turned bounty hunter who befriends imagesDjango and trains him to use a gun(though he has a natural affinity that makes it easy), Leonardo DiCaprio is the white master of Candieland, Calvin Candie, who currently owns Django’s wife, Broomhilda Von Shaft(that name) who speaks German, taught by her first mistress. Samuel L. Jackson is Stephen, Calvin’s house slave and almost partner, who talks to him like no other slave wold ever get away with.

There’s a host of names in bit roles scattered through the picture: Bruce Dern, Don Johnson(Miami Vice and Nash Bridges), Tom Wopat(Dukes of Hazzard), Walter Goggins(Justified),Django Unchained Poster Franco Nero(the original Django), Don Stroud, Robert Carradine, Lee Horsely, and even Quentin Tarantino. Probably a host of others different folks might recognize.

There was a lot of contriversy over the use of the N word. I don’t like it myself and it may have been overused, It didn’t bother me that much as I considered the time period, a couple of years before the Civil War, and that was likely the way they talked. The word wouldn’t have been considered out of the way in the south of the time.

I would probably give it four star out of five. Maybe five. They did use some of Ennio Morricone’s work in the music score.

I’ll just say I loved it.

Django_Unchained_Poster

