Tags

,

Bill Crider posted on the first book in a recent Forgotten Books and one of the commentators mentioned that both were published in a single volume, which led me to this book.

I’ve always been a sucker for PI novels so I immediately ordered this one and shoved it on top of a fairly substantial TBR pile when it arrived. I’ve finished the first one and am in the middle of the second. Good, quick reads, I add my own recommendation to Bill’s. Bill noted the gay bashing in the book and it did stand out. Though not PC these days, I wouldn’t change a word of the book(as one publisher is doing with a new edition of Huckleberry Finn; ugh).

If you like PI novels, give this one a try. Think of it as a period piece, giving us a look into the world of the beatnik. The only thing I have to compare is Maynard G. Krebs from Dobie Gillis and the Bob Denver role is not likely even close to the real thing. Chin whiskers and an aversion to work is not much characterization.

