This was my first Bernie Rhodenbarr novel and I found it quite enjoyable. Now I will have to look up some of the others and add them to my TBR pile. I’m sure I will get to them faster than other books there.

Bernie runs his book shop, has lunches with his best friend Carolyn, and apparently steal things on demand. A man who identifies himself as Smith has him steal an early draft of Fitzgerald’s Benjamin Button story(with a different title) from a museum who didn’t know what they had. Then he wants an Apostle spoon with an image of Button Gwinnett, the second signer of the Declaration of Independence.

At the same time, he;s helping his friend, sometimes adversary, Detective Ray Kirschsmann, investigate the death of an elderly woman under mysterious circumstances. It appears natural, but both men get a feeling that it’s not.

Quite enjoyed the way author Lawrence Block set it all up and moved the action along until we reach the conclusion. 

Available HERE.

