Tags

,

23429688Man, what can I say but “What a ride!” A personal issue took me away from this bok shortly after I’d started. But when I picked it back up this morning, I read the nearly three hundred pages left in about six hours.

A tale set in WWII, it concerns George Adams, an English war correspondent, Lady Jane Carrington, an English aristocrat from India, and Thomas Montclair, a French spy. The trio meet in an escape from Singapore as the Japanese are invading.

Each of the three are dealing with their own personal demons as they go through adventures in trying to escape the Japanese, aided by different folks along the way. The murder of a crude general adds to their woes as the body is found in Lady Carrington’s hotel room.

Wonderful pacing, an easy writing style, well researched, there’s nothing false about the story here.

Recommended.

