Tags

,

UPS just delivered my birthday present to myself two days before the actual day. The complete Man From U.N.C.L.E. series. Much beyond my control, that young teenager locked inside gleefully dived in to open up and examine his prize.

It was one of my favorites when I was that uncertain teenager in the first bloom of puberty. Napoleon Solo was the American version of James Bond, everything that -nerdy kid(ouch) wasn’t, handsome, assured, a swell dresser(yes we talked like that), good looking women after him all the time.

105 episodes, the rarely seen color pilot(the first season was black and white), one of the feature films, and all the usual bells and whistles. It all comes packed in a nice little briefcase.

It certainly took them long enough. Over the years I’ve collected all the tie-ins: 23 paperback novels, 24 issues of the magazine, two hardcover novels, a Big-Little book, one by Walter Gibson(he of The Shadow fame), 7 issues of the Girl magazine, the two book Girl series, and the 4 book British Girl series. One last DVD is ordered and should be here in the next few days: The Return of The Man From U.N.C.L.E.: The Fifteen Years Later Affair.

I’ve a feeling over the next couple of months, that twelve year old locked inside will be escaping all too frequently. I’m looking forward to it.