Tags

SURFING WITH THE ALIEN was Joe Satriani’s second release back in 1987, was his first success, and cemented his reputation as one of the supreme rock guitarists in the music business. I had no idea about any of that the day I walked into the local music store and spotted the cover on an audio cassette.

Who was Joe Satriani?

No idea, but that was The Silver Surfer staring back at me so, on impulse, I picked it up. I had no idea what I had in my hands until I slipped it in the car player on the way home and was blown away! Very little lyrics on the album(Satriani lets his guitar do the singing), he averages about one song each release with words, it was an overwhelming parade of guitar pieces without self-indulgent long solos.

The man is a genius and each succeeding album only shows that. The clips below, just click on the title, are some of my favorites and illustrate his power with the ole axe.

SATCH BOOGIE

ECHO

SURFING WITH THE ALIEN

CRUSHING DAY

LORDS OF KHARMA

ICE 9

CIRCLES

and I’m including this one off the TIME MACHINE album just because I like it:

DWELLER ON THE THRESHOLD